Naturalproductman’s Blog

Hey, is that a natural product?!

JACS or Angewandte?

Posted by naturalproductman on December 27, 2013

Which journal is better: JACS or ACIE?

I think many people have asked this question before.

ACIE has a higher impact factor than JACS.

Something I do like better about JACS than ACIE is that the supporting information is free to the public.

7 Responses to “JACS or Angewandte?”

  1. stir_bar said

    Isn’t ACIE’s supporting information free to the public too? In my opinion, there is not much of a difference in quality. It is true (as in your previous post) that ACIE publishes many more total syntheses. Also, ACIE has reviews. But then again, JACS has full articles and the Just Accepted manuscripts.

    Obviously, I like both but for different reasons. As far as submissions go, I would choose either . Unfortunately, I don’t quite make those types of decisions yet.

    • naturalproductman said

      I guess some other differences:

      ACIE has author profiles – I guess one may think it’s kind of cheesy but I actually enjoy reading about author’s favorite music band, or what would they do if they weren’t a scientist? questions answered. It shows you that the people who do the scientific work are human beings and they have personalities.

      ACIE also lists many awards announcements.

      JACS has an Author’s Choice option that lets the article be free to access without subscription.

  2. naturalproductman said

    You are absolutely correct – I guess I was getting the supporting info thing confused with elsevier journals (Tetrahedron, etc.) where the supporting info is not free to public. But yes, ACIE does have free supporting info.

  3. naturalproductman said

    You know – I thought about the reason behind the fact that ACIE has more total synthesis papers than JACS: it’s probably due to the composition of the editorial board.

    The JACS editorial board seems to only have William Roush from Scripps Florida and Greg Fu (Caltech) as the total synthesis chemists, while ACIE has Alois Furstner, and on their international advisory board has Shengming Ma (SIOC), KC Nicolaou (Rice), Ryoji Noyori (Nagoya U), Masakatsu Shibasaki (Institute of Microbial Chemistry, Tokyo).

    I may be missing a few from each journal that I haven’t named, but from the top of my head those were the ones I recognized. I know Matthew Sigman from Utah is on the JACS board but I thought he was more of a physical organic chemist as opposed to a total synthesis chemist.

    I wonder if that has anything to do with it.

    • stir_bar said

      I’ve heard that most total syns go across the desk of William Roush. I could be wrong though. When you look at it, Roush and Fu both are pretty methods driven chemists…so maybe that is the main driving force.

    • naturalproductman said

      I also missed the editorial advisory board of JACS composed of: Robert Grubbs, Paul Knochel, Scott Miller, Kyoko Nozaki, Melanie Sanford, and Richmond Sarpong. So the synthetic organic chemists in the editorial boards of both journals are very comparable.

  4. Ouch! I feel embarrassed about thinking I have nothing to weigh in to this discussion. My research hasn’t reached that level yet; I hope it does one day soon.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

